top of page

Double Feature: PB&C Ice Cream *paired* with "Stranger Things"


PB&C = Peanut butter, Banana, and Chocolate. Since there is no actual cream in this, I feel hesitant to call it ice cream but it tastes pretty rad despite this fact. And it's actually pretty close to soft serve!

I know it's suppose to be getting cooler outside but...it's not. At least not where I am. I am still sweating *shakes fist at sun*. It's fine. This is actually my favorite time of year - when it is sunny but a cool breeze is a blowin'. What joy!

So since it is still warm outside, it's okay to eat ice cream, right? I mean, I'm personally okay with eating ice cream in the middle of December but to each his own.

Netflix - Peanut butter, banana, and chocolate swirled together makes something like ice cream? Sounds weird, right? Well, it is but it works somehow. And that's why this week, I paired this strange dessert with Netflix's original show "Stranger Things". Y'all. Drop everything you are doing, except your spoon and bowl, and go watch this show. It is seriously good. Honestly I was hesitant to watch it because it looked a little freaky. And I am not one to watch scary things EVER. But it is not scary AT ALL. Take it from you're #1 scaredy-cat. Not scared. Suspenseful? Heck yes. Did I have to hide my face behind a blanket a few times? Yes, but I left a little peep hole so I could still watch. Don't worry the blanket protected me.

The first episode did not hook me and it might not hook you either. Don't give up! My show rule - If I am unsure about whether or not I like a show, I give it 3 episodes to convince me it's good. If I am not convinced by episode 3 then I move on to bigger and better things. Just try it out. It's Sci-Fi meets 80's meets suspense. Give it a go. There's a reason it's 5 stars!

Here's a little preview for those not convinced:

(FYI: I do not own this video - I found it at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9EkMc79ZSU)

First, chop up the bananas. Place in a ziploc bag. I spread mine out in the bag like you can see in the picture above so they would freeze a little faster. Place in freezer for 8-10 hours or longer! You could have these frozen for months and still make the ice cream goodness. It just needs at least 8 hours to freeze these little guys.

Once bananas are frozen, drop them in a blender or food processor. Add milk. Blend until they look like little banana pellets (see picture below!). Now is the time to add the cocoa powder and peanut butter.Now blend until smooth. Add some honey if you want it to be sweeter.

Top with what you want and enjoy! I put chocolate syrup because...well chocolate!!

Tips:

- Plan ahead for this one! The bananas need time to freeze (8+ hours)

- You can totally take out the cocoa and PB and just have delicious banana flavored ice "cream"

Thank you to Listotic for your inspiration! To find the original please go to: http://www.listotic.com/ridiculously-healthy-three-ingredient-treats/5/

Serves 1 - 2

 

What you need:

  • 2 bananas, chopped

  • 1 TBSP cocoa powder, unsweetened

  • 2 TBSP creamy peanut butter

  • 3 TBSP milk

  • honey (optional)

  • chocolate syrup (optional)

How to:

  1. Chop up bananas and place in freezer ziploc bag. Freeze for 8 or more hours.

  2. Once bananas are frozen, drop them in a blender or food processor. Add milk.

  3. Blend until it looks like ground banana. Now is the time to add the cocoa powder and peanut butter.

  4. Now blend until smooth. Add some honey if you want it to be sweeter.

  5. Top with what you want and enjoy!

 

Thanks for reading and enjoy!

The Fam's
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Butter is good.

 

#2

It's okay to get messy.

 

#3

Have fun!

bottom of page