top of page

Double Feature: Biscuit Chicken Pot Pie *paired* with Sixteen Candles

Double Feature week = yayyy! I so enjoy pairing my favorite recipes with my favorite "streaming" shows and movies. I hope you like dinner and a movie too :)

This week we are pairing my own version of chicken pot pie with a little movie called "Sixteen Candles". 80's dish with 80's movie. How great. Don't worry, we will talk about this more later.

This chicken pot pie is a HIT in my house. With the creamy filling and fluffy biscuit top, you're sure to be in heaven right next to my husband.

Netflix- Sixteen CandlesSo chicken pot pie was a popular dish to be made in the 80's. In case you didn't know. It was! And it reminded me of one of my favorite 80's movies - Sixteen Candles! Any John Hughes film is good with me. He just understands teenage angst, ya know? Molly Ringwald is practically a baby, Jake Ryan is way out of everyone's league, and of course Anthony Michael Hall accompanies Molly in the film as a dorky geek. It all screams 80's teen film but it is so much better than that! Perfect movie to watch while you smack your lips over this chicken pot pie.

 

What you need:

  • 16 oz ground chicken

  • 2 Tbsp butter

  • 2 C frozen mixed vegetables

  • 1/3 C flour

  • 1/2 C milk

  • 1.5 C chicken broth

  • 1 can of biscuits (I use Pillsbury *Homestyle*)

  • Salt and pepper

How to:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

  2. Place biscuits evenly on a cookie sheet and bake for 5 minutes. When time is up, set aside.

  3. Meanwhile, heat skillet over medium heat. Cook chicken until no longer pink. Salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.

  4. In the same skillet, melt the butter. Pour in the 2 cups of frozen vegetables. Cook until tender (5-7 minutes)

  5. Add 1/3 cup flour. Coat vegetables and "fry" for about 2 minutes. Don't let flour burn.

  6. Slowly pour in milk. Add chicken broth. Stir until thickened and bubbly. Salt and pepper to taste.

  7. Combine vegetable mixture with chicken. Pour into a 9x9 pan (I used 9x13 in photos but 9x9 is better!). Place biscuits on top of pot pie mixture.

  8. Cook at 350 F for 10 minutes or until biscuits are fully cooked.

 

Thanks for reading and enjoy!

The Fam's
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Butter is good.

 

#2

It's okay to get messy.

 

#3

Have fun!

bottom of page